Chocolate Drop Cookies

11 Comments

We love this recipe!  I think it was my Nana’s originally but I’m not sure about that.  I think my family has made these for every occasion I can remember.  At holiday times, we sprinkle colored sugars or other decorations over the top.

This cookie recipe is already doubled, the frosting is not. You may want to double the frosting.   If you want fewer cookies, just halve the recipe.

These cookies also freeze well even when frosted.

Chocolate Drop Cookies

Cookies
1 cup butter, melted
4 squares chocolate, melted
2 cups brown sugar, packed
2 eggs
1 cup milk
3 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 cup nuts, chopped, optional

Frosting
2 cups confectioners sugar
2 Tbs butter — softened
4 Tbs crisco
2 Tbs milk
2 tsp vanilla
pinch salt

Melt butter and chocolate together.

Mix sugar, egg and milk. Add cooled melted butter and chocolate mixture.

In another bowl, mix flour, baking powder, soda and salt hen add this to
chocolate mixture. Mix well. Add nuts if desired.

Drop from tsp on to greased and floured cookie sheet.

Bake at 350º for 10 minutes.

Frosting: Mix all together and spread on cooled cookies.

Happy Cooking!

11 thoughts on “Chocolate Drop Cookies

  1. These are the most awesome chocolate drop cookies EVER, I too, stumbled across this recipe…EVERYONE who has tasted these cookies has to have the recipe…..DELICIOUS!!!

  2. Pingback: The Baking Frenzy Starts… « A Recipe A Day

  3. Base on the pictures you posted, Your Chocolate Drop Cookies is a must try recipe. And I will definitely try it for myself and for my friends especially that holiday is fast approaching. Thanks for posting and sharing your recipe.

  4. Oh man, I totally just promised Eddie’s roommate I was going to make these! I’ll have to make them when the cookies I just made are gone.

    PS: Zoey LOOOOVES sugar cookies! It’s crazy!

  5. Pingback: Craving chocolate? Try this one… « Eatincalgary’s Blog

  6. i was just looking for a recipe for sweets with only 2 eggs (that’s all i have left in the fridge this morning)! i’ll give it a try right now, thanks!

Leave a comment