Oven Baked Bourbon Chicken

10 Comments

We made it back in one piece!  We had a great vacation ~ it was great seeing our son and our daughter ran her first half marathon and did a great job!  We are glad to be home and trying to get back in our routines.  The biggest lesson we learned is that Mr. Meat Eater and I are too old to make a 12 hour drive in one day anymore 😦  I will probably not be posting every day this week but will be soon.

I love bourbon chicken but for some reason haven’t made it in a long time.    I saw a recipe recently calling itself Bourbon Chicken but it doesn’t even have bourbon in it.  I would have thought that was a prerequisite.

This recipe is very easy but does need time to marinate.  Make sure you use the chicken thighs as I think they taste best in this recipe. as the white meat would dry out too much.  I have made this using Splenda brown sugar instead of regular and I have made about half the marinade but if you do make half the marinade, make sure to use the full 2 tbsps. of bourbon.  I usually serve with rice and stir fry vegetables.

Oven Baked Bourbon Chicken

3 lbs boneless skinless chicken thighs, trimmed of fat and cut into bite-size pieces
1 cup soy sauce
1/2 lb dark brown sugar
1 teaspoon garlic powder
2 tablespoons bourbon

Make marinade and add chicken. Pour into a large ziplock bag, and refrigerate several hours or overnight, turning occasionally.

Pour contents into a baking dish, cover, and bake at 350º for 45 to 60 minutes.

Serve over rice if desired.

Makes 4-6 servings.

Happy Cooking!

10 thoughts on “Oven Baked Bourbon Chicken

  1. I made this, and it is yummy! I didn’t marinate it over night. I did marinate for four to five hours. So easy to make, and I used skinless chicken tenderloins. Its the perfect dinner for someone who cooks for one. I’ll have left overs tomorrow, if I don’t eat it all tonight. lol.

  2. Pingback: Bourbon Chicken Recipe « The Cooking Channel

  3. I think honey would be a great choice. I may try it that way as well. I am going to try the chicken breast too just b/c of health reasons. thanks for the recipe.
    -www.suzyeats.com

Leave a Reply

