The BEST Chili Ever!

10 Comments

And that’s saying something because I do NOT like chili but I make it for my DH every now and again.  This recipe is so flavorful that I ate two bowls of it.  Don’t be afraid of the spices or the size of the ingredient list.

The Best Chili Ever!

2 lbs ground beef
1 medium onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 (15 oz) cans pinto beans, rinsed and drained
3 (8 oz) cans tomato sauce
1 (12 oz) bottle of beer
1 (14.5 oz) can beef broth
1 (6 oz) can tomato paste
1 (4.5 oz) can chopped green chilis, undrained
2 tbsps chili powder
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tsps ground cumin
1 to 2 tsps ground red pepper (I used one so it wasn’t too spicy)
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp hot sauce
Garnish with shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream, jalapeno slices if desired

Cook first 3 ingredients in a Dutch oven over medium heat until meat is completely cooked and onion is tender. Drain well and return to Dutch oven.

Combine the meat mixture with all the rest of the ingredients EXCEPT the garnishes. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low and simmer for 3 hours or until thickened (mine was thick at about the 2 hour mark). Garnish if desired.

Makes 12-14 servings depending on size of servings.

I put the leftover chili in the freezer and I don’t see why it wouldn’t be just as good as the day I made it!  This recipe makes a ton so it would be great for tailgating or potlucks.

Happy Cooking!

10 thoughts on “The BEST Chili Ever!

  1. I know the alcohol cooks out but I was looking for a recipe to take to a church chili cook-off. I’m wondering how it would taste without chili? What do you think? Thanks

  2. I just wanted to let you know that I have gotten so many great recipes from your site. My boyfriend and I love chili in the winter, so this is going to go on our “to try” list! Thanks!

Leave a comment