Horseradish Potato Salad

3 Comments

I know I’ve gone on and on before about my love for horseradish and when I found this recipe, I knew I would HAVE to make it.  As I suspected, it’s delish.  It’s not too horseradishy but you definitely know it’s in there. I used bacon bits so the bacon-hater wouldn’t have a fit (and I used very few). I think that this makes much more than 8 to 10 servings so it would be great for a potluck or a barbecue. I adapted the recipe from The Coastal Living Cookbook.

horseradish-potato-salad-added

Horseradish Potato Salad

2 1/2 lbs red potatoes
2 or 3 tbsps bacon bits ~ either crumble cooked bacon or use real bacon bits
4 hard-cooked eggs, chopped
3 green onions, sliced
3/4 cup mayonnaise
3/4 cup sour cream (I used light)
6 tbsps prepared horseradish
2 tbsps chopped fresh parsley
salt and pepper to taste

Cut raw potatoes into cubes and place in a large pan. Cover with cold water, cover, and bring to a full boil. Boil for 10 minutes or until cubes are cooked through. Don’t let it over boil or you will end up with mush. Drain well and place cubes in a large bowl.

Add bacon, eggs, and green onions to the potatoes and gently mix.

In another bowl, mix the rest of the ingredients and pour over the potato mix and combine gently until all potatoes are covered.

Cover and chill in the refrigerator until cold.

Makes 8-10 servings.

Happy Cooking!

my-signature17

3 thoughts on “Horseradish Potato Salad

  1. Hi nancy-are you aware that horseradish potato salad is very big at the moment in New Orleans? I was served two very similar versions at two very different places-two sisters kitchen on derbigny street (has been featured on NPR) and Cochon-donald link’s very wonderful place in the warhouse district. both excellent-difference? my meal at two sisters cost less than $10.00. Cochon was dinner for more than $40.00. Also it’s traditional (or trendy, depending on who you listen to) IN not just with gumbo. Yours does have bacon which neither did.

  2. I thought I was the only one that used horseradish in my potato salad (I got the trick from my late mother… who by the way, put it in her deviled eggs too). Everyone wonders and asks why my potato salad tastes different than theirs… most of the time I won’t tell them because when I tell them it’s horseradish, the wrinkle their noses up at it…LOL. It’s funny how people like something if they don’t know what it is.

Leave a comment