Barefoot Contessa’s Baked Ham and My Mom’s Ham Salad

3 Comments

I told you I was on a Barefoot Contessa jag!  This ham was fabulous!  I can get a quarter of a spiral ham at my store so that’s what I used.  The glaze is delicious and although I am NOT a fan of chutney, this just worked with the ham. I mixed the glaze ingredients differently than Ina ~ she calls for mixing it in a food processor but I was too lazy to drag it out so I just mixed it all by hand and it worked great.

Since it’s just DH and I here at home, we had our baked ham dinner and then I froze the rest.  Last night I stuck the frozen ham in the fridge to defrost and this morning I made my Mom’s ham salad.  There really is no recipe for this so here is how she (and the rest of the family) make it:    I slice some ham into small pieces and throw it in my mini chopper (you could use a food processor or a meat grinder) with a small piece of onion and grind it up, put it in a bowl, add a spoonful of pickle relish and some mayo and mix it up.  That’s all there is to it.  Just add the mayo a little at a time until you get the consistency you want.  Easy peasy!  Use as much ham as you want and just increase the onion and relish accordingly.  Just eyeball it and it’ll be great!

Baked Ham
Barefoot Contessa

1 (14 to 16-pound) fully cooked, spiral-cut smoked ham, on the bone
6 garlic cloves
8 1/2 ozs mango chutney
1/2 cup Dijon mustard
1 cup brown sugar, packed
Zest of 1 orange
1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice

Preheat the oven to 350º. Put the ham in your roasting pan.

Mince the garlic and add the chutney, mustard, brown sugar, orange zest, and orange juice in a bowl and stir until well mixed.

Pour the glaze over the ham and bake for 1 hour, until the ham is fully heated and the glaze is well browned.

Serve hot or at room temperature.

Makes 25-35 servings.

Happy Cooking!

3 thoughts on “Barefoot Contessa’s Baked Ham and My Mom’s Ham Salad

  1. Howdy, I found your site a few weeks ago and have been clicking on it every day for a recipe to share with friends who love cooking. Hope you will continue your postings as we love them! The photos are great, and your comments on preparation are very helpful.

  2. That looks really amazing! I love making ham myself. Just for the fun of it, whenever I have time. That’s why I also keep a lot of ham recipes to make sure no ham left overs get spoiled in the fridge, lol!

Leave a Reply

