Strawberry Sour Cream Jello Salad

5 Comments

I’ve made no secret of the fact that I love jello.  It’s weird, I know, but I crave the stuff.  At one of my daughter’s bridal showers, this salad was on the table and I was in heaven.  I didn’t get the recipe right them so I searched around until I found it.

It’s easy to make but takes a little planning.  I made it with sugar-free jello and less fat sour cream so it was not full of sugar and fat.  Mr. Meat Eater loved it, too, and I think it would be great for picnics or BBQs.

Strawberry Sour Cream Jello Salad

1 large box strawberry jello ~ I used sugar-free
1 small box strawberry jello ~ I used sugar-free
2 cups boiling water
2 (10 oz) boxes frozen strawberries ~ I used berries in light syrup
1 (20 oz) can crushed pineapple
1 (16 oz) container sour cream ~ I used less fat

Mix boiling water with jello in a large bowl. Add strawberries (Frozen is fine) and pineapple ~ all the juices from the fruit go in too.

Pour half this mixture in a 13×9 pan and leave the other half in the bowl. Put both in the refrigerator. When the bottom layer has jelled, spread sour cream over it. Pour thickened jello from the bowl carefully over the sour cream.

Chill until the all the jello is firm.

Makes 8-10 servings

Happy Cooking!

5 thoughts on “Strawberry Sour Cream Jello Salad

  1. This recipe is missing two bananas, puree with a fork, blend in along with pineapple. Otherwise, identical to the Fannin ancestral jello recipe.

  2. I remember my mom making this when I was a kid…it was so delicious! Thanks for a reminder of this great recipe!

Leave a comment