Spinach and Lettuce Salad

3 Comments

Mr. Meat Eater is NOT a veggie lover, obviously, but he really doesn’t like raw spinach.  I, on the other hand, love it!  When I found this recipe in Art of Cooking by the Junior League of Ogden I figured it was a happy medium and I was right.  I did leave out the bacon per Mr. Meat Eater’s unnatural dislike of bacon.  The dressing is very good and really goes well with the salad.

I used romaine instead of iceberg because that is what I had but I would probably not use the iceberg anyway as it’s not my favorite green.

Spinach and Lettuce Salad

Salad:
1 head of romaine, or your favorite green
1 pkg of baby spinach
8 ounces of mushrooms, sliced
1-2 cups of shredded Swiss cheese
1/2 – 1 pound of bacon
1 red onion, thinly sliced (soaking the onion slices in ice water for 15 minutes or so will take some of the “bite” out of the onion)

Dressing:
1 cup vegetable or canola oil
1/2 cup red wine vinegar
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup green onions, sliced thin (I used one bunch instead of measuring out 1/3 cup)
1/2 tsp dry mustard
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp poppy seeds

In a large salad bowl, toss all salad ingredients together and refrigerate.

Whisk together the dressing ingredients and refrigerate.

Just before serving, whisk the dressing again and pour the amount desired on the salad and toss again.

Makes 6-8 servings.

Happy Cooking!

3 thoughts on “Spinach and Lettuce Salad

  1. Pingback: Salad Greens « What Steve Does

Leave a Reply

