Crunchy Onion Chicken

8 Comments

My friends served this chicken on New Year’s Eve and Mr. Meat Eater and I LOVED it.  She told me how she made it so I went searching for a recipe, because as my family knows, I can’t function in the kitchen without a piece of paper or a book in front of me.  Anyway, I found one that is very similar if not the original recipe so I gave it a shot.  It’s really very good BUT it’s not as good as my friend’s version ~ maybe because I didn’t have to cook it?   I’ll keep tweaking it and see how it goes but it’s a great recipe all by itself and really doesn’t need tweaking but tweaking is what I do best. Yes, this is the chicken in that French’s commercial on TV.

I marinated my chicken in olive oil and vinegar salad dressing for a bit before making this dish so I left off the egg.

Crunchy Onion Chicken
( French’s Recipes)

2 cups French’s French Fried Onions
2 tbsps flour
4 boneless chicken breasts
1 egg, beaten

Crush onions in a ziplock bag then mix with flour on a plate or a piece of waxed paper. Beat egg in a bowl.

Dip the chicken in the egg then coat with the onion/flour mixture and place on a lightly greased baking sheet.

Bake at 400º for 20 minutes or until chicken is cooked thoroughly and no pink remains.

Makes 4 servings.

Happy Cooking!

8 thoughts on “Crunchy Onion Chicken

  1. Pingback: My Wife Fell In Love With Me Over A Piece Of Meat | Juanita's Cocina

  2. Hi Nancy
    I love your recipes! I’ve used quite a few of them.
    Just wondering…where do you buy french fried onions?

    Thanks
    Cheryl

    • I find them in the aisle with the canned veggies, usually on the top shelf and sometimes by the canned green beans. They are made by French’s. I did notice the other day they also have cheese flavored ones so that might be good to try, too, with the chicken.

  3. I tried to make this a long time ago and I couldn’t get it “crunchy” for the life of me!! And the crust kept falling off this chicken. 😦 The flavor was really good but, the crust frustrated me. lol

  4. This is a great recipe! I use sour cream instead of the egg or even leftover onion dip is an interesting option for the coating “glue.” Love your site!

Leave a Reply

