Really Good, Really Easy Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

9 Comments

Thank you all for the nice comments and messages regarding Mr. Meat Eater.   The biopsy itself went fine and we didn’t hear anything bad at the 48 hour reading so I’ll take that as good news.  We will hear for sure what the problem is on the 22nd.  I will drive myself nuts until then of course.

In the meantime, I will get back to blogging.

I really, really love this sauce.  It’s easy, makes a ton so I can put some in the freezer for the next time I need sauce, and I can make it spicy or not.  If I use all the red pepper flakes it calls for, I find it too spicy for me so I just put a tiny bit in or leave it out altogether.

It is great just served with pasta and would be equally good used for lasagna or ziti or whatever.   You can use Italian sausage instead of the ground beef if you prefer.  The recipe calls for 2 pounds of meat but I use about 1 1/4 pounds since I don’t like loads of meat in my sauce.

I found the recipe on the Betty Crocker website originally.

Really Good, Really Easy Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

2 lb bulk Italian pork sausage or ground beef (I use about 1 1/4 lbs)
2 large onions, chopped
2 cups sliced fresh mushrooms
3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 can (28 oz) diced tomatoes, undrained
2 cans (15 oz each) tomato sauce
1 can (6 oz) tomato paste
1 tablespoon dried basil leaves
1 teaspoon dried oregano leaves
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (use less or leave out altogether if you don’t like it spicy)

Spray 5-quart slow cooker with cooking spray.

In a skillet, cook sausage or beef, onions, mushrooms and garlic over medium heat for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until sausage or beef is no longer pink; drain.

Spoon sausage or beef mixture into slow cooker.

Stir in all remaining ingredients.

Cook on LOW for 8-9 hours.

Serve over your favorite pasta.

Makes 24 servings.

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Happy Cooking!

9 thoughts on “Really Good, Really Easy Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

  1. Pingback: Still stitching… | Dreamz Happen Quiltz

  2. Pingback: ADD recipe for spaghetti sauce « Skeptycal

  3. So glad to hear about your (cautiously?) good news – you and your Meat Eater are in my thoughts.

    And the sauce looks wonderful! I love, love, love slow-cooked sauces. They’re so . . . comforting. 🙂

Leave a comment