Oatmeal Dinner Rolls ~ Bread Machine or Not

4 Comments

I make this recipe in my bread machine but it’s actually a handmade dough recipe.  I love the taste of these rolls and they go with any kind of meal. The recipe came from one of my gazillions of community cookbooks.

To make them in your bread machine, just put the ingredients in your machine according to the manufacturer’s directions.   In mine, I put liquids, ingredients except for flour and yeast, then the flour, then the yeast.

oatmeal-rolls-added

Oatmeal Dinner Rolls

1 tablespoon yeast
1 cup warm water
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 cup quick-cooking rolled oats or old fashioned oats
1 egg, beaten
3 tablespoons oil
3 cups bread flour

Dissolve yeast in warm water. Add sugar, salt, rolled oats, egg, oil and 2 1/4 cups flour. Turn onto floured surface and knead in remaining flour. Knead for a few more minutes. Let rise in warm place for 1 to 1-1/2 hours.

Shape dough into balls and place in greased pan. Let rise about one hour.

Bake at 350º for 20-25 minutes. Butter tops while still warm.

Makes 12-16 rolls depending on size.

Happy Cooking!

my-signature30

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal Dinner Rolls ~ Bread Machine or Not

  1. I just tried this last night in my bread machine, they are the best rolls everrrrrr and my family asked me to make another batch today (which never happens there normally rolls leftover but not last night), thank you so much for sharing. 🙂

  2. I made those in my bread machine, and they came out great. They are the best Dinner Rolls i have ever made, and they were so simple to make. I will make them myself from now on, no more buying rolls in the store. Thank you so much for sharring this recipe. My husband loved it.

Leave a comment