Happy Halloween! Treats for the Canine Crowd!

15 Comments

Happy Halloween!  I love Halloween.  Our front yard is all decorated and I will be carving our pumpkins this afternoon.  It’s cold here so I don’t think we will be sitting outside like we usually do.  Zippy has his costume all ready ~

Since he is forever getting himself in trouble, we thought this costume was appropriate, LOL! Zoey is going to be a mermaid and I am waiting for DD to send me a picture!

Besides candy for the trick or treaters, I wanted to bring treats for the dogs at the dog park this morning so I made a batch of dog biscuits.  Zippy and Zoey love them and my old dogs used to love them, too.  I have enough left over to give some to the dogs on our street as well.

Zippy is a little blurry in this picture because the biscuits were calling him.

Dog Biscuits

2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
3/4 cup nonfat dry milk powder
1 egg
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 beef bouillon cubes, dissolved in
3/4 cup boiling water
2 tablespoons brown sugar

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl until well combined.

Knead dough for about 1 minute.

On a floured surface, roll out dough to about 1/4 inch thickness. Cut out with dog bone cutter (or any shape cutter) and place on greased cookie sheet.

Bake for 30 minutes.

Cool completely before feeding to pet or storing.

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Happy Halloween and Happy Cooking!

15 thoughts on “Happy Halloween! Treats for the Canine Crowd!

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Puppy Poppers « Touch of Home Pet Care

  2. Hi
    I was looking for recipes to make doggie treats and I found yours on line. I am quite confused because, as far as I know, wheat is a no-no for dogs, in fact, flour (of any kind) is not good good for them nor is sugar. I am sure the recipe can be adapted, though, but be careful!

    • Wheat is bad for a dog with a wheat allergy. Many dogs (like mine) do not have this problem so it’s fine for them. One of my DD’s dogs is allergic to wheat so he doesn’t eat these biscuits. You have to know what your dog can and cannot handle 🙂 You should be able to sub the wheat flour for something else (like gluten free flour) easily. I have friends that make this recipe with baby food and ground up veggies for the liquid as well.

  3. Nancy, thanks so much for this – I’ve been looking for an easy dog biscuit recipe for ages ! I think you are so kind making Halloween treats for the dogs, too & I love Zippy’s costume ! Please will you post some photo’s of your carved pumpkins once you’ve done them ? Halloween is not really celebrated here in Africa at all, & I am always interested to see/hear about traditions in other parts of the world 🙂 Have a great Halloween 😉

Leave a comment