Mexican Pork Chops

5 Comments

In the next month or so, I will be doing some of my posts a little different.  Over at Recipezaar we have an event twice a year called Pick A Chef .  I will be making 42 recipes from 14 different people (and photographing and reviewing them) with a deadline of October 19.  Some of my posts here will be the review and photograph and link to the recipe ~ I can only cook so much, LOL!

On to today’s recipe ~ I found this recipe in a cookbook that I worked on back in the 80’s.  It’s quick to put together and tastes good.  Since the rice cooks in the baking dish with the pork chops, just add a salad and you are good to go.  I serve with my Mexican Salad for a delicious meal with a Mexican flair.

The pictures don’t really show the chops too much ~ DH was chomping at the bit to eat so I am lucky I got any pictures at all, LOL!

Mexican Pork Chops

6 pork chops
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup rice, uncooked
1 (1 1/4 ounce) package taco seasoning mix
1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce
1 1/2 cups water
1/2 cup grated monterey jack cheese
1 green pepper, sliced into 6 rings

Preheat oven to 350º.

Brown pork chops and arrange in 9×13 baking pan. Season with salt. Sprinkle rice around chops. Combine taco seasoning mix, tomato sauce, and water. Pour over chops and rice, cover tightly with foil. Bake for 1 hour.

Remove from oven, uncover, sprinkle with cheese and add a pepper ring to the top of each chop. Recover and bake 10 minutes more.

Makes 6 servings.

Happy Cooking!

5 thoughts on “Mexican Pork Chops

  1. Pingback: Mexican Pork Chops | Collector Of Recipes

  2. This was so good! I added some hot sauce to the tomato sauce and also some onion rings on top of the chops at the same time that the bell pepper went on it. It was great! For sure a keeper.

  3. Pingback: Mexican Night! « Our Life as a Military Family

Leave a Reply

