Hot and Spicy Peanuts

5 Comments

I love peanuts (or any nuts, really) and this is an easy recipe to change them up a bit. They are easy to make and would be great for a party or for gift giving. Just make sure that you drain them well or they will be greasy. They are quite spicy so watch out!

Hot and Spicy Peanuts

2 teaspoons vegetable oil
2 cups unsalted peanuts
2 teaspoons chili powder
1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper (cayenne)
1/2 teaspoon garlic salt, use more if you like

In a skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Stir in the peanuts, chili powder, and red pepper. Cook and stir for 2 minutes or until peanuts are warm. Drain well on paper towels. Sprinkle garlic salt over peanuts and toss to combine. Cool completely.

May be stored in a tightly covered container at room temperature.

Makes 2 cups.

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Peanuts on paper towel on a cookie sheet

Peanuts on paper towel on a cookie sheet

Happy Cooking!

5 thoughts on “Hot and Spicy Peanuts

    • It’s because of the garlic salt ~ both would make it too salty. Personally, I like salt so if I couldn’t find unsalted, it would go with peanuts that use sea salt. I am trying a recipe for sugared peanuts for my DH and it calls for unsalted peanuts which I could not find anywhere so I am using peanuts with sea salt.

  1. I hope you dont mind me adding to this recipe at all. I like my peanuts a lot spicier so I thought I’d offer a twist on your already FABULOUS recipe. πŸ™‚

    My spicier version are made the exact same way as yours.

    BUT the spices I used are different:
    1 tsp of ground red pepper
    1/2 tsp of salt
    1/2 tsp of ground black pepper
    1/2 tsp of onion powder
    1 tsp of garlic powder
    And for a smokey flavor I added 1 tsp of Mrs. Dash’s southwest chipotle seasoning

    While draining on paper towels I sprinkled plain table salt on top, I didn’t toss them.

    I hope you try and enjoy as much as I do. This version is a LOT spicier so unless you like it hot, stay outta my kitchen! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

