Apple Pie

3 Comments

Apple pie!  I love this recipe that I have using for many years.  It came from the Fannie Farmer Baking Book which I *think* is out of print now.  It’s not overly sweet like some apple pies.  I usually use Granny Smith apples but sometimes I mix the apples up and use a couple of different kinds in the same pie.  Try to use ones that hold their shape some or you will get an applesauce pie. I am pie dough challenged so I use the Pillsbury ones from the store.

Apple Pie

Crust:
Dough for a 2 crust pie, either homemade or store bought

Filling:
6 large apples, peeled and sliced
about 3/4 cup sugar, if your apples are very sweet you can cut down on the sugar amount
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
2 tbsps flour
1/8 tsp salt
1 tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp butter

Mix all filling ingredients, except butter, together in a large bowl. Place filling ingredients in bottom crust, dot with butter, put top crust on. Crimp the pie dough edges together. Cut a couple of slits in the top of the pie crust.

Sometimes, I brush half and half over the top crust and sprinkle with sugar.

Bake at425º for 30 minutes. Reduce heat to 350º and continue baking for 20 to 30 minutes.

Happy Cooking!

3 thoughts on “Apple Pie

  1. I made an apple pie for the first time. The recipe was from the Joy of Cooking just about the same as yours, except no nutmeg.
    I made a crust using lard. It’s the only way! The filling was Northern Spy apples from here in Michigan. I dun good. It was great. My secretary who doesn’t much care for apple pie was converted. I give the credit to the Northern Spy apples. They are the best.

  2. Delicious ! I love using Granny Smiths for mine, too – we can get them here quite easily as they are imported from South Africa. LOL re. being pie dough challenged – I have the same problem !

Leave a Reply

