Crock Pot Garlic Smashed Red Potatoes

11 Comments

I’m not above taking any shortcuts I can in the kitchen. While I love to cook, I don’t want to spend ALL my time there.

I love this recipe just for the ease in making it. It goes well with just about any kind of main dish and I am not mashing potatoes at the last minute. You really have to make sure you add enough milk at the end to get a fluffy-type mash and lighten up the potatoes a little or the potatoes can taste a little glue-y…yuck!. My DH is not a fan of potatoes (incredible, I know) and whenever he has these he says he loves them, LOL!

Crockpot Garlic Smashed Red Potatoes

3 lbs red potatoes
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup cream cheese with chives and onions (from an 8-ounce tub)
1/4-1/2 cup milk

Halve or quarter potatoes as necessary to make similar size pieces. Place in a 4 to 6 quart crock pot. Add garlic, oil, salt and water; mix well to coat all potato pieces. Cover and cook on HIGH for 3-1/2 to 4-1/2 hours or until potato pieces are tender.

With a fork or potato masher, mash potatoes and garlic. Stir in cream cheese until well blended. Stir in enough milk for soft serving consistency.

Serve immediately, or cover and hold in slow cooker on LOW setting for up to 2 hours.

Save any leftovers and reheat in the microwave the next day, adding milk if needed.

Serves 4-6

Happy Cooking!

11 thoughts on “Crock Pot Garlic Smashed Red Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Hosting Thanksgiving (for the 1st time) | I Will Make Crafts & Cook Things

  2. Pingback: CSA Week 1: Stock and Potatoes | Lamb Stew with Dried Plums

  3. Pingback: Crockpot Garlic Smashed Red Potatoes « Kats’ Kitchen

  4. I don’t think I’ve commented and told you yet how awesome these potatoes are! I served them for my husbands birthday this past weekend and they were a huge hit, and so easy! Love it!

Leave a comment