Easy Potato Pancakes

9 Comments

I crave potatoes on a regular basis and I fix them all sorts of ways.  I made this recipe for potato pancakes even easier by using the bags of  shredded potatoes you can buy at the store ~ I think they are called Simply Potatoes or something close to that ~ and I find them near the eggs in my store.

This recipe is pretty easy to begin with but by using the shredded store bought potatoes, I don’t have to worry about shredding the potatoes and keeping them from turning colors.

Easy Potato Pancakes

I bag Simply Potatoes ~ or you can shred your own and hold them in cold water; when ready to use, wring them out in clean tea towel until dry
1 egg, lightly beaten ~ if your potatoes do not look like they will hold together, use another egg
3 tbsp flour
1 tbsp grated onion
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
vegetable oil

Place potatoes in a large bowl and add the egg, flour, onion, salt and pepper and mix well.

Heat 1/4 inch of oil in a large frying pan over medium heat until hot.

Drop batter by 1/3 cupfuls into the hot oil and flatten to form a pancake. Fry until golden brown; turn over and brown the other side.

Drain on paper towels and serve immediately.

Makes 4-6 servings

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Happy Cooking!

9 thoughts on “Easy Potato Pancakes

  1. these look great, my husband has just recently been diagnosed with diabetis, and it’s hard to think up good reciptes for potatoes which he only get a couple times a week, these potato pancakes will be a nice change since i only use olive oil to cook for him.
    thanks so much.

  2. My husband LOVES things like this, but I never seem able to get them quite right – they always seem to burn when I make them, or not cook through properly. Yours look perfect though 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing, Nancy. I haven’t had potato pancakes in years (my grandmother would make them occasionally). When I saw your recipe, it took me back…..now, I can’t wait to try out your recipe. I’m off to the market to locate Simply Potatoes!

Leave a comment