Really Good Make Ahead Gravy!

8 Comments

I like to do as much ahead of a big holiday dinner as I can so I am not running around like crazy on the holiday and I can actually enjoy myself.  I found this recipe in a magazine and since I had seen Tyler Florence do something similar on his show, I decided to give it a shot.  The worst that could happen is that I would be making gravy on Thanksgiving.

This gravy is DELICIOUS!  Now, it does take quite a bit of time to make and I did have to thin it out on Thanksgiving (with chicken broth) but other than that, it was perfect.

thanksgiving-and-black-friday-2008-016

Really Good Make Ahead Gravy

4 turkey wings
2 medium onions, peeled and quartered
1 cup water
8 cups chicken broth
2 medium carrots, cut in chunks
2 medium celery ribs (with leaves), cut in chunks
4 springs fresh thyme or 1 tsp dried thyme
3/4 cup flour
2 tbsp butter
black pepper, to taste

Heat oven to 400º.

In a large roasting pan, put in wings and onions. Roast for 1 1/4 hours or until wings are browned.

Put wings and onions in a large stockpot. Add water to roasting pan and scrape up any bits and then add all to the stockpot.

Add 6 cups broth, carrots, celery and thyme. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer, uncovered for 1 1/2 hours.

Remove wings ~ you can let them cool, remove the skin and save the meat for another use.

Strain broth into a 3-quart saucepan. Discard all the veggies and skim fat. (I strain into a gravy fat skimmer and pour the broth from there).

Whisk flour into remaining broth until smooth.

Bring broth in saucepan to a boil and whisk in flour mixture and boil for about 5 minutes or until it thickens. Stir in butter and pepper.

At this point you can serve it or pour into containers and refrigerate for up to one week or freeze up to one month.

You can add turkey roasting pan drippings (skimmed of fat) to the gravy on the day you roast your turkey.

While reheating, whisk often to prevent sticking. If you like your gravy browner, add a little bit of browning sauce (I do this).

Makes 8 cups of gravy.

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Happy Cooking!

my-signature1

8 thoughts on “Really Good Make Ahead Gravy!

  1. Denise~ I think adding two more wings would be good but I think I would double everything else. When it comes to adding the flour, I think I would add 1 cup and go from there ~ cook it a little longer to get rid of that flour taste. If it’s not thickened enough, I would add a little flour mixed with broth and go from there. Good luck!

  2. Nancy I love gravy that is made this way, the flavour is incredible, even though it takes some time to do. I have never tried making gravy before an event, but perhaps I should sometime as it’s often the fiddly things like this that take the time on the big day ! I have nominated you for an award, the link is on my blog/post today 😉

Leave a comment