Crockpot Barbecue Ribs

6 Comments

There really is something sacrilegious about making ribs in a crockpot but if you’re like me and can’t make good ribs on the grill, this works!  I’ve seen this recipe on the internet for a long, long time and finally decided to try it.  It was simple and so very good.  You’d swear they were made on the grill ~ well, except for the falling off the bone part.  Give them a try!

Crockpot Ribs

Crockpot Barbecue Ribs

3 1/2 pounds pork loin back ribs
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
3 tbsps liquid smoke
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 medium onion, sliced
1/2 cup cola (not diet)
1 1/2 cups barbecue sauce (I used a whole bottle of Sweet Baby Ray’s ~ I like my ribs saucy!)

Remove inner skin from ribs.

Mix brown sugar, salt, pepper, liquid smoke and garlic;  rub mixture into ribs. Cut into 4-inch pieces. Layer ribs and onion in crockpot. Pour cola over ribs.

Cover and cook on LOW for 8 to 9 hours. Remove ribs from crockpot. Discard liquid in crockpot.

Return ribs to crockpot and pour barbecue sauce over the ribs. Be sure that each rib is covered with sauce. Cook on LOW for 1 more hour.

Makes 4 servings.

Happy Cooking!

My Signature

6 thoughts on “Crockpot Barbecue Ribs

  1. I made these yesterday. Put everything in crockpot, before leaving for work. Removed ribs from crockpot to a lined cookie sheet, basted a side with bbq sauce. Let ribs cook in oven at 350 degrees for 10 to 15 minutes, flipped and basted the other side. Turn oven off and let residual heat cook the 2nd side. These ribs were fork tender, no knife required. My 5year old daughter would not let me eat for her eating them. This will be my go to for ribs cooked indoors. Thanks, keep the good ones coming.

  2. Oh yeah we did ribs in the crock pot a couple of weeks ago & they aren’t our summer smoked version but for winter in MN they are pretty darn good

Leave a comment