French Bread Pizza

Leave a comment

This is not really a recipe as such but really just a method on how we make our French bread pizzas.  This is an easy meal to make for lunch or dinner and you can make them with any toppings that you want.

Mr. Meat Eater is pretty traditional in his pizza toppings and I just found out a week or two ago that he doesn’t like green peppers on his pizza.  We have been eating pizza with green peppers on them for 35 years *face palm*!

I know they are called French bread pizzas but I usually use Italian bread.  If I can’t find the Italian bread I want, I use French bread sticks (just smaller loaves).

I have, in the past, frozen these.  Put the completely made but unbaked pizzas on a baking sheet and put in the freezer until frozen.  Then take each pizza, wrap in plastic wrap and carefully put in a large ziplock bag and return to freezer.  Bake at 375º for about 30 minutes or until completely baked and hot.  Note that this baking temperature is different than the one below..

French Bread Pizza

French Bread Pizza

1 loaf of French or Italian bread, cut in half lengthwise
Super Easy Pizza Sauce or jarred sauce
Shredded cheese ~ I use pizza cheese but use your favorites, shredded
Toppings ~ use your favorites

Preheat oven to 400º.

Place bread halves on a baking sheet.

With the bread face up, spoon on some pizza sauce. Don’t use too much or it will be too saucy.

I always put the cheese on next so that the toppings will “stick” as the cheese melts. Save a sprinkle of cheese or two for the very top.

Add your toppings. I usually use pepperoni and mushrooms. The mushrooms I use are canned because I can drain them really well and I don’t have to take the time to saute them.

Sprinkle a bit of leftover cheese over the top.

Bake for 8-10 minutes or until cheese is melted and toppings are heated up.

I cut mine in pieces and serve.

Makes 2-3 servings depending on the size of your bread.  You can make as many pizzas as you need.

Happy Cooking!

My signature

Leave a Reply

