Blueberry Corn Toasties Revisited

2 Comments

Several years ago, I was bemoaning the fact that I couldn’t get Pepperidge Farms blueberry corn toasties anymore.  I loved them and was sad.  Then, in my blog travels, I found this recipe on A Good Appetite.  I made it and loved it and promptly forgot about it like I so often do.

I remembered it last week, had all the ingredients, and I made them and loved them again.  The recipe doesn’t call for adding blueberries so I just stick them in the dough when it is in the baking pan already.

Blueberry Corn Toasties 2

Blueberry Corn Toasties

1 stick butter, melted
1/2 cup and 2 tbsps sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 tsps baking powder
3/4 cup and 2 tbsps cornmeal
1 1/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup milk
Fresh blueberries

Preheat oven to 350º.

Mix the melted butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl. Add the eggs and vanilla. Add the baking powder, cornmeal, flour and salt. Mix until all ingredients are moistened. Stir in the milk and mix until almost smooth. A few lumps are OK.

Grease a jelly roll pan (10×15) with 1/2 inch sides. Pour the batter into the prepared sheet. Make sure to spread the batter so it gets into all four corners. Stick blueberries in the dough, pushing down a bit with your clean fingers. Tap the sheet on the cupboard to get rid of any bubbles.

Bake 25 minutes or until the edges start to brown and are pulling away from the sides of the pan. Place the pan on a wire rack for about 10 minutes. Cut into squares.

Wrap the squares in plastic and store in the refrigerator and use over the week. If you want longer storage, individually wrap and store in the freezer.

To serve, toast each square until brown and, when toasted, spread with butter.

Blueberry Corn Toasties

Happy Cooking!

My signature

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Corn Toasties Revisited

  1. Thank you. These were a favorite of my grandmother’s and a special breakfast treat when I stayed with her. Making these will bring back many special memories.

Leave a Reply

