Red Wine Marinara

Leave a comment

Back in 2008 when I started this blog, this recipe was one of the first that I blogged about.  Unfortunately, there was no picture.  You can see that post here.

I make this sauce every so often and we still love it.  I like to use it over pasta that has ridges so that it *sticks* to the pasta.

I originally got this recipe from Steph that used to post on a food board on AOL years ago.  In fact, she had a website that had great recipes.  After some googling, it looks like she has started a blog ~ here!  At least I think that’s her.

Anyway, we love this sauce!

Red Wine Marinara Sauce 2

Red Wine Marinara Sauce

1 (29 oz) can whole tomatoes
1 (6 oz) can tomato paste
1/3 cup red wine
1 shallot, minced
2 large cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp Italian seasoning
1/2 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp sugar
pinch salt
pinch freshly ground black pepper

Crush tomatoes in a food processor or blender ~ I empty the can in a bowl and use my handheld blender than pour into a large saucepan. Add the rest of the ingredients into the saucepan with the tomatoes and stir to combine.

Heat until bubbly over medium heat. Reduce to low heat and let simmer for 1 hour.  I usually half cover the pain to keep the sauce from getting all over the place.

Serve over your favorite pasta.

Makes 4 servings.

Red Wine Marinara Sauce

Happy Cooking!

My signature

Leave a Reply

