Easy Horseradish Sauce

Leave a comment

Mr. Meat Eater and I don’t do anything special for Valentine’s Day so this year I decided to make a special dinner.

I was lucky to find a small prime rib at BJ’s Warehouse Club so I decided right then and there that that was what we were having.   For the rest of the menu we had mashed potatoes (which I rarely make) and steamed carrots.  I thought we needed some kind of sauce other than gravy so I made this horseradish sauce.  It is divine!  So nice and horseradish-y and it doesn’t make but about 1/2 cup so it’s not hanging around forever. If you live in the South like I do, use Duke’s mayonnaise.

I always wonder what to do with the leftover prime rib so this time I made sandwiches with warmed up beef, provolone slices, lettuce, tomato and a dab of leftover horseradish sauce.  I wrapped them up and heated them for a bit.  Yum!

Easy Horseradish Sauce

Easy Horseradish Sauce

2 heaping tablespoons prepared horseradish ~ we love horseradish so I used 3 tbsps.
1 tbsp cider vinegar
1 tsp dry mustard
3 tbsps mayonnaise ~ if you can get Duke’s, use that
1/8 tsp ground red pepper
1/2 cup sour cream ~ I used light

Whisk all the ingredients together in a small bowl and store in the refrigerator until needed. This should last at least a few days in the refrigerator tightly covered.

This would be great on baked potatoes, sandwiches, or for a dipping sauce for fries.

Makes about 1/2 cup or so.

Source: Allrecipes

Happy Cooking!

My signature

Leave a Reply

