Wedge Salad with Homemade Blue Cheese Dressing

Leave a comment

My new favorite salad!

The salad is very easy to make and the blue cheese dressing is out of this world good.  In fact, I loved it so much I went out the next day and got the ingredients to make it again.  It’s that good.  Honestly, I will never buy blue cheese dressing again.

I cut down the whole recipe to make 2 servings and I wish I had made the whole dressing recipe.  I won’t make that mistake again.

Wedge Salad with Blue Cheese Dressing

Wedge Salad with Homemade Blue Cheese Dressing

Blue Cheese Dressing:
1/2 pound crumbled blue cheese
1/4 cup sour cream
1/3 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 1/2 tablespoons white sugar
1 clove garlic, minced
ground black pepper to taste

Salad:
1 head iceberg lettuce, cut into 8 wedges
2 roma tomatoes, diced
1 small red onion, thinly sliced
1/2 pound crumbled blue cheese

To make the dressing: combine 1/2 pound blue cheese, sour cream, buttermilk, mayonnaise, vinegar, olive oil, sugar, garlic, and pepper in a bowl; blend using a hand mixer; chill until serving. Make sure the garlic is really minced (I used a press) so you don’t bite into a piece of garlic.

To make the salad: place 1 lettuce wedge on each of 8 plates. Drizzle equal amounts of dressing over each wedge. Scatter tomatoes, onion, and 1/2 pound blue cheese over each salad. I did not use the onion because I didn’t think it really went with the salad or extra blue cheese because it’s cheesey enough.

Source: Allrecipes

Happy Cooking!

My signature

Leave a Reply

