Barefoot Contessa’s Potato Salad

Leave a comment

Super Bowl post #5!

Every Super Bowl feast needs some side dishes and this salad is perfect.  It’s easy to make and tastes wonderful.  I love my Mom’s potato salad but this one is just different enough and we really love it.  It does not make a huge amount so double it if you need to.  I would not double the dressing ~ I used 3# of potatoes and had some leftover.  There is probably enough for 5# of potatoes.

I saw Ina make this on her show and I cooked the potatoes like she did which is different than I usually do.  I put the smallish Yukon Gold potatoes in the pot without cutting them up.  I poured cold water over the top  and boiled them, covered, for 20 minutes until just cooked through.  I drained in a colander and then put the potatoes (still in the colander) back in the pan and covered it with a tea towel and let them steam for 20 minutes.  Perfectly cooked!

Barefoot Contessa's Potato Salad

Barefoot Contessa’s Potato Salad

3 lbs Yukon Gold potatoes
1 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup buttermilk
2 tbsps Dijon mustard
2 tbsps whole-grain mustard
1/2 cup chopped dill
freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup chopped celery
1/2 cup chopped red onion

Cook the potatoes as I explained above or use your own way of cooking potatoes for potato salad.

While the potatoes are cooking, in a small bowl, whisk the mayo, buttermilk, both mustards, dill, and pepper together until combined. Set aside.

When the potatoes are cool enough to handle, cut them in chunks into a large bowl. Pour enough dressing over to coat. Add celery and red onion and mix.

Cover and refrigerate for several hours for flavors to blend.  Check for salt and pepper before serving.

Makes 4-6 servings.

Source: Barefoot Contessa’s Potato Salad

Happy Cooking!

My signature

Leave a Reply

