Spicy Bourbon Sliders a la Pioneer Woman

1 Comment

Super Bowl food day #2!

As I am sitting here waiting for the big snowstorm to start, I am thinking about how much I like watching the Pioneer Woman.  She has really grown on me over the last year or so.  I know she has her detractors ~ I’ve seen the websites ~ but I like her.  Her recipes are generally easy to make and easy to change up.

For this recipe, I changed the whiskey to bourbon with fantastic results.  Personally, I like the way bourbon tastes better when cooking with it.  I didn’t find the sauce very spicy either.  I don’t think the jalapenos in the jar are nearly as spicy as fresh.  Mr. Meat Eater ate three sliders.  He loved them!

Spicy Bourbon Sliders

Spicy Bourbon Sliders a la Pioneer Woman

1 lb ground beef
salt and pepper to taste
4 tbsps butter
1 onion, diced
1/2 cup bourbon
1 cup barbecue sauce
1/4 cup jalapeno slices from a jar ~ I gave them a rough chop
6 slider rolls or dinner rolls split in half

Make 6 small burger patties from the meat ~ don’t forget to press down the middle of each burger so they won’t puff up. Sprinkle both sides of all burgers with salt and pepper. Melt 2 tbsps butter in a large skillet and cook the burgers on the stovetop until done to your liking.

While the burgers are cooking, in another skillet, melt the remaining 2 tbsps of butter. Cook the diced onions over medium heat until they are translucent, about 3 or 4 minutes. Add the bourbon (if you are cooking on a gas stovetop, turn off the burner before adding to reduce the risk of fire; turn back to medium after adding). Let bourbon reduce by half; about 2 or 3 minutes. Stir in jalapenos and barbecue sauce and let heat a bit.

Place each burger on a slider bun, top with a couple spoonfuls of the sauce. Serve.

Makes 6 sliders

Spicy Bourbon Sliders 2

Source: adapted from The Pioneer Woman

Happy Cooking!

My signature

One thought on “Spicy Bourbon Sliders a la Pioneer Woman

Leave a Reply

