Fried Apples

3 Comments

For those of you who have been to Cracker Barrel and had their fried apples, don’t you just love them?  It’s like eating apple pie without the crust.  I happen to like my apple pie ice cold so I put leftovers in the fridge and they were so good!!

I used a few Granny Smith apples that were really on their way to being tossed and since I hate to throw out food, I looked around for something to make and found this recipe.  I think any apple that holds its shape well when cooked would probably work.  I liked the Granny Smith since they are tart and the sauce is sweet ~ perfect combination.

Fried Apples

Fried Apples

8 medium Granny Smith apples, chopped into large pieces
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium-low heat. Add apples and the rest of the ingredients and stir until combined.

Saute 15-20 minutes or until the apples are tender.

Serve as a side dish, dessert, or even for breakfast.

Makes 6 servings.

Source: Southern Food

Happy Cooking!

My signature

3 thoughts on “Fried Apples

  1. Pingback: Torta integrale di mele con pasta madre | La Caccavella

  2. I have a friend whose family owned an orchard. She would make these by frying up some bacon, removing the bacon and frying the apples in the drippings. For sweetener, she would use honey. She served them up for lunch with the bacon and some bread. So yummy. Thanks for bring back that memory.

Leave a Reply

