Greek Salad

1 Comment

I have posted about this recipe before but I love this recipe so much that I think it’s worth repeating.  I make this salad at least once every couple of weeks, it’s that delicious and easy to make.  I think it’s one of my very favorite recipes!

I do a couple of things differently ~ I never add the green pepper because I am not really a fan of raw green pepper and I usually use regular black olives because kalamata olives are very expensive here.    After making it so many times, I now use  grape tomatoes.  Sometimes I cut them in half and sometimes I don’t but they taste much better in the off season than regular tomatoes.  I also use regular cucumbers if I can’t find English cucumbers. The dressing always looks like it won’t be enough but it  is.

Greek Salad 2

Greek Salad

Dressing:
6 tbsps olive oil
1 1/2 tbsps fresh lemon juice
1 tbsp red wine vinegar
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp oregano ~ Mediterranean if you have it

Salad:
1 head lettuce or about 1 1/2 bags lettuce
3 plum tomatoes or 1/2 carton grape tomatoes, chopped
1 English or regular cucumber, chopped
1 medium red onion, cut into rings and soaked in ice water for a few minutes to help make it less sharp
1 small green pepper, cut into rings
3/4 cup kalamata olives
3/4 cup feta cheese

Blend dressing ingredients together until well mixed. I put all the ingredients in a jar and shake until blended.

Mix all salad ingredients, except cheese, in a salad bowl. Add drained onions after patting them dry with paper towels.

Toss the salad with the dressing and sprinkle cheese over the top.

Serve.

Makes 6 servings.

Greek Salad

Source:  Food.com posted by evelyn/athens

Happy Cooking!

My signature

One thought on “Greek Salad

  1. Pingback: Kolokythokeftedes with Baked Goats Cheese | Being Mrs Gardom

Leave a Reply

