Lemon Cake

5 Comments

I love, love, love lemon. I especially love a really lemony cake and this recipe fits the bill.

The recipe says to use a tube pan but I used a bundt pan and I am thinking that it would be better in a tube pan.  I had a heck of a time getting it out of the bundt pan even though I had greased it very well.  The cake has a tender crumb which might have something to do with it.  It’s an easy cake to make and please use fresh lemon juice and zest ~ it makes a huge difference.

Lemon Cake

Lemon Cake

Cake:
3 cups cake flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup butter, softened
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
1 cup buttermilk
grated zest of 1 lemon
3 tbsps fresh lemon juice

Glaze:
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

To make the cake, mix flour, baking powder, and salt together in a small bowl. Beat butter and sugar in a mixing bowl until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each. Beat in dry ingredients alternately with buttermilk, beginning and ending with dry ingredients. Beat in lemon zest and lemon juice. Pour into well-greased tube pan.

Bake at 300º (yes, that’s the correct temperature) for 50 minutes or until a cake tester inserted in the middle comes out clean. Cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Invert onto serving plate.

To make the glaze: Beat the ingredients in a small bowl until well mixed and smooth. Drizzle over cool cake.

Serve with fresh berries if desired.

Makes 12 servings (at least).

Source: Popovers To Panache

Happy Cooking!

My signature

 

 

5 thoughts on “Lemon Cake

  1. There have been several recipes calling for buttermilk, but no baking soda. I’m making this cake for the first time for company, and I’m a little nervous about it rising…and only 1 1/2 t of baking powder. Would love a quick response.

    • I went back to make sure I didn’t forget to add baking soda but it doesn’t use it. My cake rose fine with just the baking powder. Just make sure you grease your baking pan very well or it will stick badly ~ I did use a bundt pan but I wouldn’t recommend it for this cake so use a tube pan. It’s very tender. Please let know how you make out!

      • Thanks so much for your quick reply. The cake turned out fine. I baked it in a tube pan, the only one I have, and I think it was a little larger than ideal, but the cake is fine. It reminds me of a cake my aunt introduced to my family back in the late ’40s. (I know–“when??”) It was a 1-2-3-4 cake -1 cup lard (or butter), 2 c. sugar, 3 c. flour, and 4 eggs, 1 cup milk and whatever flavoring you wished…our favorite: lemon. My mother always used self-rising flour, so leavening wasn’t a question.

        I really like you site, and your recipes. The oatmeal-cherry muffing were great! Thanks again for responding so quickly.

Leave a Reply

