Big Game Snack Mix

Leave a comment

I’m always looking for something different that Mr. Meat Eater can munch on while watching sports on TV.  If I don’t, he will eat me out of house and home.

I found this recipe in a small community cookbook and while I knew I would like it, I wasn’t sure if Meat Eater would.  The reason?  It’s on the sweet side.  He likes snacks that are SPICY and make him sweat.   I was pleasantly surprised when he loved it.  I think it’s the combination of ingredients mixed with the honey that makes it so good.

It’s perfect for parties, tailgating, and just plain snacking!

Big Game Snack Mix

Big Game Snack Mix

4 cups rice or corn chex cereal~ I used rice chex
1 1/2 cups mini pretzels
1 cup pecan halves
1/3 cup butter
1/4 cup honey

Preheat oven to 350º.

In a large baking dish, combine the cereal, pretzels, and pecans and set aside. I used a disposable aluminum baking pan.

Melt butter in a small saucepan. Stir in the honey and blend well.

Pour over cereal mix in the pan and stir carefully making sure all ingredients are well coated.

Bake for 12-15 minutes or until all ingredients are lightly glazed, stirring occasionally.

Remove from oven and let cool slightly; then spread on wax paper to cool completely. I spread mine on a parchment paper lined baking sheet until it was completely cool. I stored it in a Rubbermaid container.

Makes about 6.5 cups

Source:  A Bordertown Jubilee

Happy Cooking!

My signature

Leave a Reply

