Teriyaki Noodles

2 Comments

I really, really love the site Budget Bytes and I made another recipe from it.

Any kind of oriental noodles are right up my alley so I had to try the teriyaki noodles on Budget Bytes.  They are awesome!  Making the teriyaki sauce from scratch is a huge plus to me since it tastes so much better than bottled sauce.  Plus it make just enough for the recipe so I don’t have extra hanging around in my fridge.  It’s also a very easy recipe to make, which is always a plus!

Teriyaki Noodles

Teriyaki Noodles

Sauce:
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 tbsps rice vinegar
2 tbsps brown sugar
1/4 tsp toasted sesame oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 inches fresh ginger, minced
red pepper flakes, pinch
1 tbsp cornstarch
2 tbsps water

Vegetables and Noodles:
1 lb frozen stir fry vegetables
8 ozs buckwheat soba noodles ~ I used linguine
1 tbsp canola or vegetable oil

To make the sauce: Mix all the sauce ingredients and whisk to completely combine. I make this ahead and keep in the fridge until I need it making sure to whisk it well before using in the recipe since it separates a bit.

Boil the noodles; drain. Set aside.

In a wok or large skillet, heat the canola oil over medium-high heat. When the pan is hot, add the vegetables and stir for several minutes to heat up the vegetables. Whisk the teriyaki sauce and pour over vegetables in pan. Let it come up to temperature and it will thicken at this point. The vegetables will be warmed through as the sauce thickens. Once the sauce is thickened and vegetables warm, turn off the heat.

Add the noodles to the pan and mix. I found that using a pair of tongs is the easiest way to mix it all up.

If you have leftovers, store them in the fridge and reheat in your microwave.

Makes 4 servings.

Source: Budget Bytes

Teriyaki Noodles 2

Happy Cooking!

My signature

2 thoughts on “Teriyaki Noodles

  1. I can imagine this would also be good with shrimp or left over chicken.

    BTW I made vegetable beef soup a couple weeks ago. As a short cut used cut up frozen soup vegetables. Did not like them. The medium sized potatoes were mealy and left whole. Carrot pieces were too big. I like to eat soup with a spoon so had to go through and cut everything up.

Leave a Reply

