Chicken Taco Layered Salad

Leave a comment

I found this recipe many years ago in a favorite community cookbook.  I made it a few times until Mr. Meat Eater told me he didn’t like it.  He does not like avocado OR bacon mixed in recipes.  Bacon for breakfast or in a BLT is fine but anywhere else is not.  He will just never like avocado.  I do have another dressing that he loves that has avocado in it and he will not believe me that it is in there.  I just make sure he is not around when I make the dressing and continue to serve it.

This is an easy recipe to make ~ just a bit time consuming.  I usually use shredded taco cheese for a little extra spice but all I had was cheddar and it was fine.  This is one of those salads that really is kind of blah the next day so it’s best if it gets eaten the day you make it.  The dressing can be made several hours before serving.

Chicken Taco Layered Salad

Chicken Taco Layered Salad

Dressing:
1 medium avocado
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup sour cream
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp salt
couple of shakes of Tabasco ~ use more if you want it spicy

Salad:
1/2 head lettuce, shredded ~ I used an entire bag of spring mix
2 cups cooked chicken, cut in cubes
1 tomato, chopped
1/4 cup green onions, thinly sliced
8 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled ~ I cut up the bacon before cooking
1 cup shredded taco or cheddar cheese
1 cup crushed tortilla chips

In a blender or food processor, mix all the dressing ingredients together until they are smooth. Keep in the refrigerator until ready to use.

Layer salad ingredients in a trifle dish or other glass bowl in the order given in the recipe ~ starting with lettuce and ending with the cheese.  Spread the dressing over the top, covering completely. Sprinkle with crushed tortilla chips.

Serve.

Makes 4-6 servings.

Source:  Simple Elegance

Happy Cooking!

My signature

Leave a Reply

