Spicy Shrimp Pasta

2 Comments

Mr. Meat Eater and I love shrimp so I’m always on the lookout for new recipes.  I found this one on Budget Bytes ~ which is an awesome site and you should visit!  There are loads of great recipes.

I did change this recipe up a little bit.  I used 1 1/2 lbs shrimp since they were on the smallish side and we like lots of shrimp in our dishes.  I used 6 cloves of minced garlic so the dish would be nice and garlicky.   I also used several shakes of red pepper flakes and I really couldn’t taste it too much so if you like food spicy, use more. I think the next time I make this, will get diced tomatoes with garlic or some other kind of spice.

Spicy Shrimp Pasta

Spicy Shrimp Pasta

8 oz fettuccine
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp butter
4 cloves garlic, minced ~ I used 6 cloves, minced
1/2 lb peeled and deveined shrimp ~ I used 1 1/2 lbs
1 (15 oz) can diced tomatoes
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 tsp salt
Fresh black pepper
Fresh parsley, chopped, for garnish

Add the pasta to large pot of boiling water and cook according to package directions. Drain.

While the pasta is cooking, put the olive oil and butter in a large skillet over medium heat.

Rinse the shrimp, drain, and add to the melted butter/olive oil in the skillet along with the minced garlic. Saute just until shrimp turns pink. Remove from the pan and set aside.

Add the tomatoes and their juice to the skillet with the red pepper flakes, salt and pepper. Stir and let simmer over medium heat for about 5 minutes or until slightly thickened.

Add the cooked fettuccine to the sauce in the skillet and toss to coat with the sauce. Add back the cooked shrimp and toss to mix again. Adjust salt if needed.

Before serving, sprinkle chopped parsley over the top.

Makes 4 servings.

Source: Budget Bytes

Happy Cooking!

My signature

2 thoughts on “Spicy Shrimp Pasta

Leave a Reply

