Meatball Sliders

Leave a comment

I have often made meatballs just to make meatball sandwiches but really they are too much for me to eat.  On an episode of Pioneer Woman I watched her make meatballs and put them in dinner rolls.  Why did I not think of this?  Super easy to make for lunch or dinner or parties.

I use my meatball recipe ~ My Mom’s Easy Meatballs.  There are always some leftover so I freeze in the leftover sauce to use for spaghetti or another round of sliders during the month.

Meatball Slider

Meatball Sliders

Here is how I make them:

1 recipe meatballs, your own recipe, my recipe, or frozen ~ completely cooked
1 jar of spaghetti sauce, your own recipe or store-bought
1 pkg dinner rolls, I bought a package of 24 and had some leftover
1 pkg of provolone cheese slices, mozzarella slices are good, too

Simmer the meatballs in the sauce in large saucepan for 1/2 hour or so or for however long you want. Be careful not to let the bottom of the meatballs or the sauce burn.

Slice the dinner rolls in half and place both halves cut side up on a baking sheet.

Preheat your broiler.

Now comes the tricky part (not really). As you are taking each meatball out of the sauce, give it a squish with your tongs to flatten it out a bit. Place the squished meatball on a bun bottom. If the meatball breaks up a bit, just put all pieces on the roll.  Spoon a bit of the sauce over each meatball.

Tear the provolone slices in half and each half in half again. Put 2 small halves on each meatball.

When ready, place under the broiler until the cheese is melted and bun tops are browned.

Remove from broiler, replace tops, enjoy!

Makes at least 24 depending on how large your meatballs are.

Meatball Sliders

Happy Cooking!

My signature

Leave a Reply

