Make Your Own Croutons

Leave a comment

I had bought a loaf of sourdough bread last weekend at our favorite bakery and never used it.  I hate throwing food away but this loaf was very stale.  What to do?   I turned it into delicious croutons.

This is one of those “non-recipe” recipes.  It’s really just a how-to and you can make them whatever flavor you want.

Make Your Own Croutons

Make Your Own Croutons

Loaf of stale bread
Butter or olive oil
Favorite spices ~ I used garlic powder, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper
Cheese ~ optional ~ I used grated Parmesan cheese

Here is what I did:

Preheat oven to 325º.

I sliced the bread into 1-inch slices. I cut off the crusts and then cut the bread into 1-inch cubes.

I melted a stick of butter in a large bowl in the microwave. Added the cubed bread. I sprinkled on some garlic powder, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper and then the Parmesan cheese. I mixed being careful not to crush the bread.

I put this all on a baking sheet and made sure the cubes were all in a single layer.

I baked them for about 30 minutes until they were hard and browning nicely. Remove from the oven and cool on the baking sheet.

Use on salads or in soups or for snacking.

Happy Cooking!

My signature

Leave a Reply

