Roast Balsamic Brussels Sprouts

Leave a comment

In my family, brussels sprouts are not a well-liked vegetable ~ except by me. I love them. Growing up I can’t remember ever having them and I have no idea what made me buy them and try them years ago.

I was baking a ham and brussels sprouts go wonderfully with ham so it was an easy choice for a side dish. I did want to do something a little different than just steaming them so I searched around until I found this recipe. Roasting brings out the flavor of the sprouts and the balsamic syrup brings some tang and sweetness. I did only make half of the recipe since I was the only one eating them. Give them a try!

Sprouts

Roast Balsamic Brussels Sprouts

3 lbs Brussels sprouts
1/2 cup olive oil
salt and pepper
1 cup balsamic vinegar
1/2 cups sugar

Clean and trim the Brussels sprouts and cut them in half. If they are small, leave whole. Arrange on a baking sheet ~ use two if you need it ~ and toss with the olive oil, salt and pepper. Bake at 375º for 25 to 30 minutes or until brown being careful not to let them burn.

While the sprouts are roasting, combine the vinegar and sugar in a saucepan and bring to a boil Watch carefully because it will boil over if you are using a small saucepan. Once it comes to a boil, reduce the heat to medium-low and let simmer until reduced and the mixture become syrupy ~ about 15-20 minutes.

When the sprouts are done, pour the balsamic reduction over the top and mix and serve.

Makes 10-12 servings

Source:  Tasty Kitchen

Happy Cooking!

My signature

Leave a Reply

