Au Gratin Potatoes ~ The Pioneer Woman’s Version

2 Comments

Happy New Year!!!  I hope everyone had a great holiday season!

I have changed up my blog a bit.  I was getting bored with it and hope that this redecorating will get me jazzed up again.

One of the side dishes I made for Christmas was these au gratin potatoes.  The main reason I chose this recipe was because I didn’t have to use my mandolin to slice the potatoes.  I cannot be trusted with that thing and shouldn’t even own one.

Mr. Meat Eater and I loved this recipe.  It’s so easy to put together and would taste great with any main dish.  It’s a great dish to serve on a holiday but not complicated at all.  I made half of the recipe and I chunked my potatoes even though the recipe said to dice them.  I thought I remembered seeing Ree make this on her show and remembered that she didn’t peel or dice her potatoes.  I did peel mine since leaving the peel on would not be a favorite for me.  Other than that, I made it as the recipe stated.

Au Gratin Potatoes

The Pioneer Woman’s Au Gratin Potatoes

2 tablespoons butter, softened
8 large russet potatoes, scrubbed clean and peeled (or leave the peels on)
3 cups heavy cream
1 cup whole milk ~ I used 2%
1/4 cup flour
Salt, to taste
Black pepper, to taste
2 cups grated sharp Cheddar
2 green onions, sliced thin ~ I didn’t use these because I forgot

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Butter a large baking dish with the butter. Since I halved the recipe I used a 9×9 baking dish.

Slice the potatoes into sticks, and then cut the sticks to create a dice. As you can see in my picture, I left mine in chunks.

Mix the cream and milk in a bowl. Add the flour, salt and some pepper. Whisk it together well so that the flour is incorporated into the milk/cream mixture. Add the diced or chunked potatoes to the buttered baking dish and pour the cream/milk mixture all over the top.

Cover with foil and bake for 20 to 30 minutes. Remove foil and bake 15 to 20 more minutes. Sprinkle on the grated cheese and return to the oven until the cheese is melted, 3 to 5 minutes. Sprinkle on the green onions and serve.

Source: The Pioneer Woman

Happy Cooking!

2 thoughts on “Au Gratin Potatoes ~ The Pioneer Woman’s Version

  1. Wonderful! You just gave me a recipe to use for this weekend. I’m going to chunk the potatoes too. Thanks for sharing this gem. (PS – your photo is outstanding also!)

Leave a Reply

