Peanut Butter Dog Biscuits and Pumpkin Dog Cookies

2 Comments

I like to make my own dog treats especially in light of all the dog treats that are recalled and those that are killing our pets.  I just don’t trust any of them.  I usually give my dogs vegetables as treats but I like to give them a biscuit now and then.

These treats have no preservatives so if you make them, I would put most in the freezer so they don’t spoil.  I gave almost all of them away to my friends dogs at the dog park.

The peanut butter recipe is from Paula Deen ~ who I swore I would never make another recipe from but I justified it by telling myself it’s just dog biscuits.  The pumpkin recipe I found on Cesar Milan’s website.  Both were given 2 paws up by my mutts!

Dog Biscuits 1

Peanut Butter Dog Biscuits

3/4 cup milk ~ I used 2%
1 egg
1 cup smooth peanut butter
2 1/4 to 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour ~ I used white wheat but you can use regular flour
1 tbsp baking powder

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the milk, egg, and peanut butter. Add in the flour and baking powder to make a very stiff dough. You may have to use your hands to mix in the last bit of flour.

On a floured surface, roll the dough out to 1/4 inch thick. Cut into desired shapes.

Bake at 325º on a parchment-lined baking sheet for approx. 20 minutes or until hard.

Cool completely before giving any to your dog. Store extras in the freezer for up to 3 months.

Serving size varies according to the shapes you cut them in but expect to get at least 2 dozen.

Dog Cookies Again

Pumpkin Dog Cookies

1/2 cup canned pumpkin
4 tbsps molasses
4 tbsps water
2 tbsps vegetable oil
2 cup whole wheat flour ~ I used white wheat but you can use regular flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon, optional ~ I used 1/2 tsp

Preheat oven to 350º

In a large mixing bowl, mix together the pumpkin, molasses, vegetable oil. and water.

Add the flour, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon and mix. The dough will be semi-stiff.

Scoop out dough ~ I used a small scoop, abt a tbsp ~ and place on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. Flatten with a fork.

Bake about 25 minutes or until hard. Cool completely before giving any to your dog. Store any extras in your freezer.

Makes at least 2 dozen dog cookies.

Happy Cooking!

My signature

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Dog Biscuits and Pumpkin Dog Cookies

Leave a Reply

