Apple Crumb Pie

Leave a comment

Mr. Meat Eater and I are pie people.  We like cake, too, but almost always choose pie over cake.   Even though we love pie, I don’t make it very often because we would eat too much.  Last week I had some apples that were well on their way to spoiling so the first thing that came to my mind was…pie!

I searched around and found a recipe on Allrecipes that I changed up to suit us.  It’s easy and delicious.  I used MUCH less sugar than the recipe called for ~ I used barely 1/4 cup since my apples were sweet and 3/4 cup just seemed like too much sugar to me.

Apple Crumb Pie

Apple Crumb Pie

Pie:
1 pie shell, unbaked
6 cups sliced apples
1 tbps lemon juice
2/4 cup sugar ~ I used less than 1/4 cup
2 tbsps flour
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg

Topping:
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
3 tbsp cold butter

Preheat oven to 375º.

Place sliced apples in a large bowl and sprinkle lemon juice over the apples. Mix the rest of the pie ingredients (except crust) in a small bowl and sprinkle it over the top of the apples and mix until all the apples are coated evenly. Spoon into unbaked shell.

In another small bowl, mix together the flour and brown sugar. Cut in the butter until the mixture looks crumbly. Sprinkle over filling in the pie shell. Cover loosely with aluminum foil.

Bake for 25 minutes. Remove foil and bake for an additional 25-30 minutes until the top is golden brown.

Cool and serve.

Makes 8 servings.

Happy Cooking!

My signature

Leave a Reply

