Key Lime Meringue Pie

2 Comments

This pie was another key lime recipe I made for Mr. Meat Eater.  I was pleasantly surprised when I tasted it and had to have my own piece.  It was delicious and I’ll be making this pie again in the near future.

Now, the recipe for the filling called for 5 egg yolks and the meringue called for 4 egg whites.  I used 5 egg whites for the meringue ~ no sense in wasting that last egg white.  I also used Nellie and Joe’s key lime juice instead of fresh lime juice.  I also made my own graham cracker crust instead of using a bought one.  I just followed the directions on the box.  I always find the meringue on pies gets really sticky after the first day so it would be easier to cut the pie into slices before refrigerating for the night.

I’m sure I got this recipe from Pinterest and it is attributed to the Deen Brothers.

Key Lime Pie

Key Lime Meringue Pie

Filling:
5 large egg yolks
1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk
2 tsps grated lime zest
1/2 cup key lime juice ~ I use Nellie and Joe’s
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 prepared graham cracker crumb crust

Meringue:
5 egg whites
6 tbsps sugar
1/2 tsp cornstarch
pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 325º.

In a medium bowl, mix together the yolks and condensed milk. Stir in the lime zest, lime juice, and cream. Pour into crust and bake for 20 minutes or until firm.

Increase oven temperature to 350º.

Meanwhile, using a mixer, beat the egg whites until soft peaks form. In a small bowl, mix together the sugar, cornstarch, and salt. Add the sugar mixture, a spoonful at a time, to the egg whites, beating between additions. Beat until sugar dissolves.

Spoon meringue over the hot pie filling. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the meringue is golden.

Serve pie warm or at room temperature.

Makes 8 servings.

Happy Cooking!

My signature

2 thoughts on “Key Lime Meringue Pie

Leave a Reply

