Cherry Turnovers

Leave a comment

A very easy and delicious recipe from Gooseberry Patch’s new cookbook.  If you would like a chance to WIN a copy of this cookbook, please see THIS POST and comment with your favorite thing to have for breakfast!

This recipe was really easy.  I made them for dessert after dinner instead of for breakfast but Mr. Meat Eater had the leftovers the next day for breakfast.

I am not the greatest working with puff pastry.  I must do something wrong because it always looks so easy when others work with it.  Eventually I get it but I struggle with it.

Cherry Turnovers
Submitted by Lynda Robson of Boston, MA

1 (17 1/4 oz) pkg puff pastry, thawed
21 oz can cherry pie filling
1 cup powdered sugar
2 tbsp water ~ I used milk which I prefer

Unfold each puff pastry sheet and cut each sheet into four squares.

Divide pie filling among the 8 squares. I used a couple of tbsps for each turnover and had filling left over which I froze.

Brush edges of pastry with water and fold into triangles. Crimp edges with a fork. I didn’t brush the edges with water but I did crimp with a fork. Cut a small slit in the tops of the pastries with a sharp knife if desired.

Place the pastries on ungreased baking sheets and bake at 400º for 15 to 18 minutes until puffed and golden.

Let cool slightly.

Blend together the powdered sugar and water and drizzle over the tops of the warm turnovers.

Makes 8 turnovers.

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

