Ham and Cheese Pastries

3 Comments

What a whirlwind couple of weeks!  Two showers for my daughter ~ one of which was at my house ~ so I have been busy, busy, busy.  I did all the cooking for the shower at my house ~ breakfast in the dining room and lunch in the kitchen ~ and I did not take pictures of all the food.  Oh well, I’ll have to remake them!  Yesterday, we went to the venue and got the menu for the reception all planned.  The wedding is coming up fast!

In between all that, I bought a new cookbook ~ The Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook ~ the recipes are just wonderful and easy to do.  If you get a chance, check it out.  I highly recommend it if you like to bake.

This recipe came from that cookbook.  Every Saturday Mr. Meat Eater and I go to a local bakery for breakfast.  I am addicted to their ham and cheese croissants so I am always looking for a similar recipe and this one is as close as I have gotten.

It’s easy to make and we had them for dinner.  I made half with the seasoning and half without since I wasn’t sure if I would like it or not.   I did.

Ham and Cheese Pastries
adapted from The Bake in the Day Bakery Cookbook

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Seasoning Mix
1/2 tsp onion powder
1 tbsp chili powder
1 tsp thyme
2 tsps pepper
1 tsp allspice
1/2 tsp cloves
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp garlic powder
Fine sea salt to taste

Pastries
1 (17.3 oz pkg) frozen puff pastry, defrosted in fridge for 20-30 minutes
1/2 lb thinly sliced ham
1/2 lb thinly sliced sharp white cheddar
1 egg, beaten with 1 tbsp water to use for egg wash
1 tsp fine sea salt

Preheat your oven to 400º and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Make the seasoning mix by mixing all spices in a small bowl and set aside. You’ll have extra to store for the next time you use this recipe!

On a floured surface, unfold the pastry and cut into 4 (5 inch) squares.

Arrange the ham and cheese in the middle of each square and sprinkling some of the seasoning mix over the top.

Fold two opposite corners over the top and press to seal. Transfer to baking sheet. Repeat with second pastry sheet.

Brush egg wash over the pastries and sprinkle with salt if desired.

Bake until pastries are golden brown ~ about 12-14 minutes. Remove from sheet and let cool on a wire rack.

Serve warm or at room temperature.

Makes 8 pastries.

Happy Cooking!

3 thoughts on “Ham and Cheese Pastries

Leave a Reply

