Homemade Tartar Sauce

4 Comments

We love fish sandwiches and have them once a week.  One day while the fish was in the oven I discovered I didn’t have any tartar sauce so instead of running to the store, I made my own.   I have not purchased tartar sauce since.  This recipe tastes so fresh and it uses ingredients you probably have in your refrigerator already.  I usually make it at the last minute and I have never made the whole recipe ~ I usually make half or a third.

Homemade Tartar Sauce

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

1 cup mayonnaise
2 tsps sweet pickle relish
1 tsp prepared yellow mustard
1 tsp fresh lemon juice

Stir all ingredients together in a small bowl and refrigerate covered until needed.

Happy Cooking!

4 thoughts on “Homemade Tartar Sauce

  1. This looks great, Nancy! We have fish at least once a week. Since I’m the only one who likes tartar sauce in our house, the bottle usually expires before we can use it. I’ll give your tartar sauce a try. 🙂

  2. I put capers in my tartar sauce. Plus the relish. Because I love capers and relish.

    Do you have your fish sandwich recipe here on the blog? I’m off to go hunt! If not, I’d love for you to share it!

    • Capers sound good ~ I’ll give it a try, thanks!

      No, I just buy whatever white fish looks good, bread it, bake it, and eat it 🙂 If nothing looks good, I buy frozen. DH piles on cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, pickles and a double piece of fish. I just use fish and sauce.

Leave a Reply

