Taco Burgers

5 Comments

One day a week is burger night at our house so I am always on the lookout for new burger recipes.  Usually I just copy what I see on restaurant menus.  This week I got a new cookbook ~ 1,000 Easy Recipes; Super Fun Food for Every Day ~ that is put out by the Food Network and found this recipe in it.  It IS easy and Mr. Meat Eater and I both enjoyed the burgers.

The burgers really taste like tacos in a bun.  The next time I make these, I might mix the spice in the burger instead of just sprinkling it.

Taco Burgers

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

1 1/2 lbs ground chuck
1/2 tsp kosher salt
Cumin
Oregano
Chili powder
White cheddar slices
Burger rolls
Guacamole, optional
Lettuce, optional
Salsa, optional
Sour cream, optional
Tortilla chips, optional

Mix the ground beef with the kosher salt and form into 4 patties. Don’t forget to make the indentation so they don’t puff up during grilling.

Sprinkle one side with cumin, oregano, and chili powder to taste.

Grill until they are done to your likeness. Place a slice of cheese on the burger and let melt while still on the grill.

Serve on buns with your favorite toppings.

Makes 4 burgers.

Happy Cooking!

5 thoughts on “Taco Burgers

  1. Taco burgers are real common out here in Southern California, but they generally use meat mixed with the spices and some seasoned tomato sauce, it is great that way. I ran into a recipe recently for taco stuffed (pasta) shells and it is on my to make list.

  2. Every time I grill burgers, and make an indentation like you said, they puff in the middle. I’ve gone so far as to nearly make burger donuts. Is this a sign of over-worked meat?

    • No, if the meat is overworked it will taste tough. When I make my indents, I almost go through like a donut. I leave just enough meat so it doesn’t make a hole. They still puff some but not as much as if I didn’t do it.

  3. Pingback: Taco Burgers « A Recipe A Day- Recipes And Family

Leave a Reply

