Barbecued Baked Fish from Simple Shortcut Recipes

2 Comments

Day 2 of recipes from Gooseberry Patch’s For a chance to win a copy of this cookbook, go HERE and comment on the post that you would like to be entered!

I loved this recipe ~ easy and yummy, my two favorite things.

I did have one problem though.  It calls for barbecue chicken shake ‘n bake which I could not find anywhere.  I know I have seen it but it was nowhere to be found in any of the stores I go to.  So I made an executive decision and bought Parmesan chicken shake ‘n bake instead.  I was so looking forward to the barbecue flavor but this was very good, too.

For the fish, I went to the fish counter and bought 2 cod fillets which is one of my favorite types of fish and I think it would work with any type of fish ~ fresh or frozen, thawed ~  so use your favorite.

In the picture, the fish sort of fell apart when I took it off the baking sheet.

Barbecued Baked Fish
submitted by Michelle Welch, Ontario, Canada

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

1 lb of fish fillets, fresh or frozen, thawed
1 cup milk
1/4 cup barbecue-flavored chicken shake ‘n bake ~ I used the whole package and tossed what was leftover

Place fish fillets in a bowl with the milk. Cover the bowl and refrigerate for one hour. Drain milk and discard.

Pour mix into a shallow bowl. Dip fillets into coating, making sure the fillet is entirely coated.

Place on an ungreased rimmed cookie sheet.

Bake, uncovered, at 450º for 20 minutes or until fish flakes easily with a fork.

Makes 4 servings.

Happy Cooking!

2 thoughts on “Barbecued Baked Fish from Simple Shortcut Recipes

  1. Looks yummy! I have a difficult time finding that BBQ Shake and Bake too……it must really sell fast. Today while looking for the BBQ, I found Teriyaki Shake and Bake!!!! Having it tonight with sweet peppers and boneless pork ribs. Love that Shake and Bake!!!

    We always have fish on Fridays so will try this recipe then. I happen to have a BBQ in the stockpile!

Leave a Reply

