Fried Cabbage and an Original Recipe Contest Sponsored by Del Monte

2 Comments

Before I get to my recipe, some contest information for those of you who enjoy coming up with original recipes. This week I was contacted by Del Monte and asked to let my readers know about a Facebook contest they are having for an ORIGINAL recipe using their products. Here’s how to enter the Del Monte Crown the Cook Facebook Contest:

Like Del Monte on Facebook HERE

Click on the Like Button and access the Crown the Cook application

Click “Submit Recipe”

Complete the registration form

Upload your recipe photo and enter your recipe

Click “Submit”

Your recipe must use a Del Monte product ~ the list of all products you can use can be found HERE

If your recipe is selected as one of the top three finalists, not only will you win a year’s supply of Del Monte® products*, but Del Monte will send you and a guest on a four day trip to San Francisco to compete in a cook-off against two other fans!

 The grand prize winner will take home the title of Del Monte Cook-Off Champion, as well as thousands of dollars worth of professional cookware.

Official rules for the contest can be found HERE

If any of my readers are serious about entering, please let me know ~ it sounds like a great opportunity ~ a_recipe_a_day at yahoo dot com.

****************************************************************************************************************

On to my recipe ~ Fried Cabbage for St. Patrick’s Day.  Probably not something too many people like but I love it.  In fact, Mr. Meat Eater and the kids wouldn’t touch it with a ten-foot pole.  When I was growing up I loved creamed cabbage that my Mom used to make but I can’t make it as good as she did so I stick to the fried version.  Actually, it’s really sauteed.  I use butter but you can use bacon grease if you have some.   This isn’t really a recipe per se but just how I make it!

My Fried Cabbage

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

1 cabbage, cut in half
3 tbsps butter
salt and pepper to taste

Slice the cabbage into thin slices and pull the slices apart.

Melt butter in large skillet. When melted, add the cabbage. Sprinkle with salt. Saute the cabbage until it cooks down and becomes lightly brown.

Place on a plate or in a bowl and season with pepper.

I only use a third of the cabbage at a time if I am making it just for me.

Makes 4-6 servings

Happy Cooking!

2 thoughts on “Fried Cabbage and an Original Recipe Contest Sponsored by Del Monte

  1. We have this at least once a week…. I am addicted to it! It is on the menu for tonight again. Happy St. Patrick’s Day Nancy!

    ouroldhomestead.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

