Pi Day!

5 Comments

Today is 3.14 which is pi so today is known as pi(e) day in the foodie/blogging world.

Those who follow A Recipe A Day on Facebook know that I have been craving banana cream pie so I thought it would be a perfect post for pi day ~ and it helped that I remembered to buy bananas.  A reader suggested a banana pudding pie and it stuck with me.

I was looking through a bunch of old cooking magazines last week and found one called Our Best-Ever Cakes and Pies by Southern Living.   While everything in it looks so good, I did find a banana pudding pie that used homemade pudding so I gave it a shot.  It wasn’t hard to put together but it did take some time.

As I suspected, one piece satisfied me and now I won’t want banana cream pie for another couple of years since I’m not really a fan of bananas.  Mr. Meat Eater, on the other hand, inhaled 2 pieces ~ he loved it!

Regular readers will know that I can’t cut a pie to save my soul so I will only show pictures of the whole pie before I make a mess of it, LOL!

Banana Pudding Pie

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

1 (11 oz) box Nilla wafers
1/2 cup butter, melted
2 large bananas, sliced ~ I used 3
Vanilla Pudding ~ recipe follows
4 egg whites
1/2 cup sugar

Preheat oven to 350º. Put 30 Nillas aside.

In a food processor, process remaining Nilla wafers. Stir crushed wafers and melted butter together and firmly press on the bottom and sides of a 9-inch pie plate.

Bake crust for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove to rack and let cool.

Arrange half of the banana slices over the bottom of the crust.

Prepare the vanilla pudding and put 3/4 cup hot pudding over the bananas and top with 20 of the reserved Nillas. Put 3/4 of the leftover pudding over the top of the Nillas and top with remaining banana slices. Put the rest of the pudding (about 1 cup) over the banana slices.

Beat egg whites at high speed with an electric mixer at high speed until foamy. Add sugar, 1 tbsp at a time, beating until stiff peaks form and sugar is dissolved. Spread meringue over hot filling making sure to seal edges.

Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until lightly browned.

Remove from oven and let cool on rack for 1 hour. Crush remaining Nillas and sprinkle over top of pie.

Chill for 4 hours before serving.

Makes 8 servings.

Vanilla Pudding

2 cups milk
3/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup flour
2 large eggs
4 egg yolks
2 tsp vanilla

Whisk together first 5 ingredients in a heavy saucepan. Cook over medium-low heat, whisking constantly, for 8-10 minutes or until mixture reaches thickness of chilled pudding. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla. Use in banana pie immediately.

Happy Cooking!

5 thoughts on “Pi Day!

  1. This is the recipe my Mom uses to make her banana pie she makes every Christmas! How funny is that? We love it and I have some bananas to use up so I think I know what I will be making tomorrow. Thanks!

    ouroldhomestead.blogspot.com

  2. Pingback: Pi Day! « A Recipe A Day- Recipes And Family

  3. I can never take a picture of a pie once it’s cut or of the first slice (or three). I simply mess it up!

    But who cares? It’s pie!

    And this looks amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

