Panko Mushrooms

16 Comments

I found this recipe on Pinterest and my daughter tried it and loved it so I tried it as well.  It’s so good!

I took my daughter’s advice and added some grated Parmesan cheese to the Panko and I think I would do that from now on.   They are easy to make and I think they would be good for a party and are a great way to use up mushrooms that are starting to look a little sad.

Originally, the recipe came from Food & Wine.

***Adding here that The Low Fat Chick tried this recipe and baked them which is a GREAT option ~ here is the link to how she did it ~ Chives and Asiago Mushrooms.  She has an awesome blog so I hope you will check it out!

Panko Mushrooms

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

2 eggs, beaten
2 cups Panko
12 large mushrooms, cleaned and stems discarded
Vegetable oil for frying

In a skillet, heat the oil until it starts to shimmer.

Put the Panko (and Parmesan, if using) onto a plate and beaten eggs into a bowl. Dip the mushrooms into the egg, then the Panko.

Fry the mushrooms until golden, over medium high heat being careful not to let them burn. They only take a minute or two to cook. Make sure you roll them over so all sides get brown.

Drain on paper towels and season with salt.

Serve right away.

Makes 4 servings

Happy Cooking!

16 thoughts on “Panko Mushrooms

  1. Pingback: Chives and Asiago Mushrooms « The Low Fat Chick

  2. These look fabulous Nancy! I absolutely adore fried mushrooms and can’t wait to make these at home!

    BTW, I’m making your chicken wings tomorrow! I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

