Black Beans and Rice

4 Comments

Mr. Meat Eater’s kidney doctor wants him to eat more beans.  That’s not really a problem as long as I make the kinds he likes and I don’t necessarily like the same kind so…I make them for him and freeze most because I’m not a huge fan.

These were easy to make except I would only use 2 cans (1 can is about 1 cup) of black beans at the most next time I make them.  Three cans turned out to be way too many.  I think I would use chicken broth in place of the vegetable broth as well because I don’t really like the flavor of the veg broth.  I used white rice since that is what I had but brown rice would work equally well.

The recipe came from Allrecipes and Mr. Meat Eater loved them!

Black Beans and Rice

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

1 tsp olive oil
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 cup uncooked white rice ~ can use brown
1 1/2 cups vegetable broth
1 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
3 1/2 cups canned black beans ~ 2 cups would be plenty

In a large saucepan, heat the olive oil. Add the onion and garlic and saute for several minutes until the onion is soft. Be careful not to let the garlic burn. Add rice and saute for a minute or two.

Add the broth and bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to low and let simmer for 20 minutes or until the rice is fluffy. Add the spices and beans and stir until combined. Leave on the burner for a few minutes until the beans are heated up.

Makes 10-12 servings.

Happy Cooking!

4 thoughts on “Black Beans and Rice

  1. There must be some sort of typo here. I followed the recipe closely and was a disaster. Rice was crunchy after 40 minutes and twice as much liquid as stated.

    • I’m not sure I understand ~ you’re rice was crunchy and you used twice as much liquid? Or do I have that wrong? The recipe is correct. I went back and checked the original and all the amounts are correct. I’ve made it a few times and so has my daughter and it works.

  2. Thank you so much for the recipe! I have been trying to incorporate more beans into our diet and this sounds delicious. Will definitely have to give it a try!

    ouroldhomestead.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

