Adirondack Salt Potatoes

1 Comment

I have spent lots of time in the Adirondacks and have collected a bunch of cookbooks from the region.  I pulled them all out and one thing they all have in common is salt potatoes.  Just the name is enough to send my blood pressure even higher and my arteries harden but they are so delicious they are worth having once a year.

Mr. Meat Eater was smoking a slab of meat so I decided this was the perfect time for salt potatoes.  Up in the Adirondacks, I can buy the potatoes and salt all in one bag but down here I have to buy small potatoes (I used small yellow potatoes) and just throw in the salt.  They are served slathered in at least one stick of melted butter and any herbs you might want to throw in.  The insides of the potatoes become very creamy and delicious.

Any leftovers I cut up and make fried potatoes the next day but then I throw away any leftovers of those because they are so salty tasting by that time, they are almost inedible.  They are good to make for a barbecue and that is when we used to have them back in the day.

Mr. Meat Eater’s brisket rub remains a mystery.  He has a little book that he keeps all his concoctions in and I’ll be darned if I can find it.  I think he hides it.  This particular rub is a bit spicy for me but he loves it.  We serve it sliced up the first night and then make sandwiches with it the next day.  The rest goes in the freezer for another day.

Adirondack Salt Potatoes

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

8 cups water
1 1/2 cups Kosher salt
3 lbs small red or white potatoes, leave skins on
1 stick butter
Fresh herbs, optional
Pepper

Bring salt and water to a boil in a large pot. When boiling, add potatoes.

Cook potatoes until tender ~ about 25 minutes or so but test with a fork or knife at 20 minutes.

Drain potatoes. Put the pot back on the stove over medium heat and add the butter. When the butter has melted, turn off the heat, add the potatoes, herbs and pepper. Toss the potatoes and serve immediately.

Makes 6-8 servings

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Adirondack Salt Potatoes

Leave a Reply

