Apple Muffins

4 Comments

I have a love/hate relationship with muffins. There are very few that I like ~ because they are dry and tasteless ~ so when I find a recipe that I like, I shout it from the rooftop! This is one of those recipes. They are moist and delicious.  The streusel  is delicious, too.  The recipe comes from Allrecipes.

Apple Muffins

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Muffins:
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 1/4 tsps vanilla
1 1/2 cups chopped apples ~ I used Gala

Streusel:
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1 tbsp flour
1/8 tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp butter

Preheat oven to 375º and grease a 12-cup muffin pan or use cupcake liners (I even spray the cupcake liners with Pam).

In a bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat together the butter, sugar, and eggs until smooth. Mix in the vanilla. Stir in the chopped apples. Gradually blend the flour mixture into the wet ingredients. Spoon into the muffin pan.

In a small mixing bowl, mix the brown sugar, flour and cinnamon. Cut int he butter until the mixture looks like coarse crumbs.

Sprinkle over the tops of the batter in the muffin pan.

Bake 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean.

Let the muffins sit for 5 minutes before removing from pan. Cool muffins on a wire rack.

Makes 12 muffins.

Happy Cooking!

4 thoughts on “Apple Muffins

  1. Perfect timing! I bought a bag of mixed fruit the other day that had some Red Delicious apples in it. I knew it would be a challenge to eat them since on the red spectrum I prefer Gala or Fuji. I used one today in a recipe that I’m about to post about and now I have a use for two (?) more! And if these muffins come with your seal of approval (I just recently read your About Me page and am familiar with who you are from the old ‘Zaar days!) I’m sure they’ll be a winner! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Apple Muffins « A Recipe A Day- Recipes And Family

Leave a Reply

